top of page
Search

The Poetic and Majestic Waters of Jamaica

Updated: Mar 2, 2023

Just last week, I went on one of my favorite vacations of the year: Jamaica. Oftentimes, I find myself conflicted when asked if I prefer family trips to our town of origin in Italy versus the beautiful white sand beaches of Jamaica, and I must confirm that I may personally rank Jamaica higher than Italy in certain aspects.


The majestically clear and blue waters of Jamaica capture my greatest imagination and entertainment. I have always enjoyed the water so dearly, ever since I was a child (my parents often called me a mermaid!). Of all the beaches I have been to, I do think that Jamaica has some of the best and is completely worth a visit for your next spring break! The sand is indeed white and very soft. It contains the perfect sand granules opposed to the rocky sand that encompasses the coasts of Europe ... what more can be expected of the beautiful Caribbean Islands?


Now onto the snorkeling and water sports! I stayed at an all-inclusive Sandals/Beaches Resort in Negril that offered free snorkeling, sailing, water skiing, knee boarding, glass-bottom boating, kayaking, paddle boarding, snuba/scuba (if certified), and banana-boating. I participated in all of these except snuba/scuba!


To start my days, from 9:00 to 12:00, I went through my rounds of water sports because I find that the water is calmest and clearest in the mornings. Most mornings, I would start with water skiing. This year was actually my first time water skiing and I found the greatest joy in it! For years, I have been told to try water skiing, but fear always got the best of me. However, if there is one thing I took away from this trip, it is truly to try new things while you are offered the opportunity and to enjoy them (the greatest advantage of all-inclusive resorts for my family is this wide range of watersports available). This is how I looked at water skiing. If I had not tried it, I never would have known just how much I enjoy it! Next year, you will find me doing tricks on the wake! After water skiing, I would then go kayaking with my father and paddle boarding with my sister. A perk of doing these activities in the morning is that the clarity of the water allows you to see large and vibrant starfish beneath the surface. Sometimes, I brought my goggles with me and dived down to catch a few. In addition, paddle boarding is one of the most relaxing and cherished activities to me! On days when the current was moving towards shore, I would paddle out as far as I could, lay on my board while rocking with the waves, listening to the birds, and feeling the sunshine on my face! The current would take me back to shore where I was greeted by the loveliest and friendliest water sports crew (they totally understood how much I adored the ocean)! Lastly, my greatest experiences came from snorkeling. There are truly no words to describe the amazement and satisfaction that comes from seeing the coral and sea life under the water firsthand. It is one thing to be an observer from the surface, but if you are like me and like to dive down below the surface and see things from a "level" point of view, it is truly a priceless experience. I saw a number of sea creatures including moon jellies (harmless jellyfish), turtles, stingrays, pufferfish, crustaceans (crab and lobster), several species of fish, starfish, coral species, sea cucumbers, and more. The water staff at the resort gives you a guided tour under the water to see the different kinds of fish and their niches. Each day, they take you to several different destinations along the bay that are home to different creatures. I really appreciated seeing these animals and swimming with schools of fish. I also loved the crystal blue waters and calming waves.


With that said, for those who are in love with the ocean and its mysteries as well as water activities just as much as I am, I would certainly recommend Jamaica or any other Caribbean Island, especially an all-inclusive resort. There is nothing that brings me more joy than being with my family and enjoying nature. Finally, in celebration of Earth month (this month), it is important to recognize and cherish how special our Earth is. There are beauties and experiences all around us, especially those out in nature or the water, that exceed any material possessions. So this month, try to enjoy nature and for those that live by water, enjoy the beauty and peacefulness of it!


Pictures from Snorkeling:







14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page